Homemade Chocolate Milk #Recipe

Two weekends ago, we made the six hour drive to visit my in-laws. On the way home, at a convenience store stretch break, I decided to indulge in a bottle of chocolate milk, one of my favorite road trip treats. Except … I made the mistake of looking at the nutrition label. I never used to read labels, but it’s a habit that’s been growing ever since I did a stint with Weight Watchers and married a guy who lives in fascinated horror of the vast and every-increasing amounts of salt and sugar put into processed foods.

So I read the label and discovered that a single serving bottle of chocolate milk has the same amount of sugar as a shareable pack of peanut butter M&Ms.

I went with the M&Ms.

But after we got home, I still had that chocolate milk craving, so I turned to my trusty blender and whipped up a batch of homemade.

Does it taste like the corn-syrup-saturated stuff from the store? No.

Is it delicious? Oh yeah.

And the best part? The entire blender full has the same amount of sugar as the single serving bottle I’d been contemplating at the gas station. (It’s also a lot cheaper. Score!)

Recipe:

3 cups of milk (whole is a nice indulgence, but skim works fine. You can probably make this with non-dairy millk, too, although I’ve never tried.)

3 tablespoons powdered sugar

1 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder (or to taste. I use dark cocoa, so if you are using regular, you might want a little more)

Dump everything in your blender. Blend for 30+ seconds until ingredients are combined and milk is extra foamy. Drink immediately.

If you don’t use up the entire batch right away, keep it in the blender pitcher. Before pouring it out, pop it back on the blender base to re-foam the milk and mix in any cocoa sediment that might have settled.

Yeah, you’re welcome.

chocolate milk.jpg

2 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Milk #Recipe

  1. Pingback: Homemade Chocolate Milk – The Vegan Bird

Leave a Reply

