Chicken Bryan! (Carrabba’s style)

 

Chicken Bryan.jpg

Chicken Bryan with tomato and avocado salad and rice

 

Back on the blogging horse! I’ve been making plenty of things these last few weeks, but since it’s so much more fun to make than to record, I’ve slacked off on writing about them 😉

Here is my new Carrabba’s style Chicken Bryan recipe. I love Carrabba’s, and their chicken Bryan is my favorite, but it’s not a place that fits into the budget very often, so I thought I’d try my hand at making my own. I was really pleased with the way it came out, in spite of some imperfections, and my husband raved 😉

Project summary:

Does it taste exactly like Carrabba’s? No.
Is it healthier than Carrabba’s? Yes.
Is it delicious? ABSOLUTELY.

I started with this recipe here: http://www.food.com/recipe/original-carrabbas-chicken-bryan-not-copycat-361631 then lightened it up and made it easier. (Cheap, healthy(er), easy: the trifecta of food perfection!)

INGREDIENTS

Chicken:

4 chicken breasts
salt and pepper
2 tsp olive oil
a few dashes of liquid smoke

Lemon sauce:

small handful sun dried tomatoes
4 tsp minced or shredded fresh onion (I used my new cheese grater!)
1 Tbsp dried basil
1 tsp garlic powder
6 Tbsp olive oil
4 Tbsp lemon juice

Other:

2-4 oz goat cheese (depending on how much you like goat cheese)

DIRECTIONS

Heat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil. Spray foil with cooking spray.

Place chicken breasts on pan. Mix olive oil with liquid smoke (according to taste). Brush oil over chicken. Season with salt and pepper according to taste.

Cook chicken for about twenty minutes, until an internal temperature of 165 degrees Fahrenheit is reached.

In a small saucepan, sautee onion in 1 Tbsp olive oil until softened. Add remaining lemon sauce ingredients and simmer until chicken is done cooking.

Plate chicken breasts. Divide goat cheese into four portions and place on of chicken. Spoon sauce over top.

Eat it while it’s hot!!!

 

I also made this bread herb dip (substituting dried herbs for fresh). Again, not exactly like Carrabba’s, but pretty delicious. So delicious, I made another batch and we’ve been eating it with all our meals from Spanish beef to beans and rice!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

